Users Examples

Please post any examples you would like to share with other PicoBorg owners here :)

GeekyTim's picture

Finally got my PicoBorg all connected up to the wheels last night, and it works! However, it works too well - it is far too fast for what I want to do with it. The Pi is running from its own rechargeable battery, and the two wheel motors from 4 AA batteries. I'm no electronics expert, so I would like some advice to slow it down. Perhaps I could use a couple of resistors between the PicoBorg and the motors? I was thinking of some potentiometers so I can try and match the speed of the two motors so it goes in a straight line. Any advice?

GeekyTim's picture

Using RemoteKeyBorg it's manageably slower. But it turns, so I think the potentiometers would be a good idea.

piborg's picture

The size of the additional resistance will control how much slower the wheels turn by lowering the voltage across the motors.

It does seem like potentiometers would be good, that way you can indeed tune the two motors so they run at the same speed (if they do not already), but also you can set him to run at different speeds depending on what you want to do with him.

Great idea :)

GeekyTim's picture

I tried a couple of potentiometers, but they were to large, I think - the motors either worked or didn't.

So I wanted to try resistors. I tried 100ohm, which slowed the motors down quite a bit, but they became REALLY hot. I'm not sure what amps are drawn by the two motors from a 6v battery pack, but perhaps it's too large for my little 1/4w resistors?

As I mentioned above, I am VERY new to electronic circuits.

GeekyTim's picture

Or, I could simply use a two AA battery pack! That works for me :-) Off to eBay!

piborg's picture

No worries, learning new things always take time and mistakes.

The separate battery pack is a good idea, it will mean the motors will not draw from the Raspberry Pi's power source, which it is very picky about!